## REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING June 12, 2024

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on June 12, 2024 in the conference room at the high

school at 7:00AM. Board members present: Molly Welch, Jon Karger, Greg Larson, and Brenda Olson

Board Members Absent: Anne Peterson and Staci Allmaras

Student Representatives present: Eduardo Sanchez

Student Representatives absent: None

Others Present: Brian Korf, Derrick Nelson, Laura Januszewski, Emily Evenson, Rudy Martinez, Cary Haugrud, PJ Breen,

Madison Abarr, John Peter.

The meeting was called to order at 7:15AM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

## Acknowledgements

2024 Valedictorian: Ellie Welch & Salutatorian: Elizabeth Moe

Activity Workers from the 2023-2024 School Year Substitutes from the 2023-2024 School Year

**Spring All-State Athletes** 

Softball Academic All State: Claudia Gurath, Ava Simpson, Ariana Villagomez

Track Academic All-State: Grace Backstrom, Andrew Checco de Souza, Megan Guler,

Ethan Isaman, Justin Jacobson, Charlie Larson, Grady Larson, Calvin Norton,

Channing Russman, Brody Syverson, Ellie Welch, Jack Welch

All-State: Grace Backstrom, Anthony Checco de Souza, Ethan Isaman, Justin Jacobson,

Charlie Larson, Ellie Welch, Jack Welch

Team Academic All-State Boys and Girls - Gold

Track State Participants: Grace Backstrom, Anthony Checco de Souza, Megan Guler,

Ethan Isaman, Justin Jacobson, Charlie Larson, Ellie Welch & Jack Welch

## Administrative reports

A. High School Principal
B. Elementary Principal / AD
C. Student School Board Representatives
D. Finance Director
E. Superintendent
Mr. Derrick Nelson
Mr. Eduardo Sanchez
Mr. Rudy Martinez
Mr. Brian Korf

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes May 20, 2024 Regular School Board Meeting
  - B. Financial claims May bills
  - C. Treasurer's report
  - D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$80 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$80 - Laura Klimek

Al Siegle Scholarship - \$500 - Faye Siegle

Viking Butikk - \$86.12 - Grove Lake Lutheran Church

PRHS Girls Golf - \$60 - MN National Bank

F. Personnel

Approve the resignation of Karla Breen as Minnesota Honor Society Advisor at PRHS

Approve the resignation of Steve Babb as Assistant Baseball Coach at PRHS

Approve the resignation of Aubrey Kapenga as Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

Approve the resignation of Cassie Klovstad as Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

Approve the retirement of Cindy Lyden as Kitchen Cook at VES

Approve the resignation of Cameron MacFarlane as Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

Approve the resignation of Norma Martin as Part-time ADSIS Interventionist at VES

Approve the resignation of Mary Storrusten as Part-time ADSIS Interventionist at VES Approve the resignation of Tosha Vogel as Special Education Paraprofessional at PRHS Approve the hire of Julie Jones as Full-time Evening Custodian at PRHS Approve the hire of Kelsey Lage as Minnesota Honor Society Advisor at PRHS Approve the hire of Devyn Syverson as Prom Advisor at PRHS Approve the hire of Amber Wang as Choir Teacher at PRHS Approve the hire of Amber Wang as Fall Play Advisor at PRHS Approve the hire of the following summer staff:

Summer School Paraprofessional: Tosha Vogel

Club Vikes: Faith Banton, Brenna Davis, Angel Garza, Maddyx Vondra Custodial: Todd Huseby, Connor Larson, Carson Weiers, Connie Wifall

Summer Rec: Michael Honrud

F. Approve the 2024-25 HeadStart Lease Agreement

The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2024-25 School Board Meeting Schedule for the third Monday of each month. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to approve the Resolution Establishing Dates of Filing Affidavits of Candidacy. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried, upon a vote being taken. The following voted in favor: Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Greg Larson and Molly Welch. The following voted against: None.

Jon Karger made a motion to approve the 2026 Fiscal Year Long-Term Facilities Maintenance Plan. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to approve the 2024-25 Fiscal Year Proposed Budget. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to approve the 2024-25 District Goals and Priorities. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with all present board members voting in favor.

voting in favor.	The motion was seconded by Brenda	Olson and carried with all present members
Board Chair	 Board Clerk	